Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2024

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit11:00 am
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto

Sir András Schiff
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Joseph Haydn: Piano Concerto No. 11 in D major Hob. XVIII:11
Béla Bartók: Divertimento for String Orchestra
Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 104 in D major Hob. I:104 'London"

Sir András Schiff, piano and direction
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Paul Sacher was a Swiss industrial magnate, but his true passion was music: as a patron and conductor he commissioned some of the most important compositions of the 20th century - including Béla Bartók's magnificent Divertimento, the last work Bartók composed in Europe, in Switzerland in 1939. Joseph Haydn, on the other hand, wrote “The twelfth which I have composed in England” on the score of the Symphony in D major, composed in London in 1795. The work has been given various titles, including, in Germany, “Salomon” after Haydn's English impresario and “mit dem Dudelsack” (“with the bagpipes”) because of the delightful drone in the finale; and “London”, because it completes that magnificent set of a dozen symphonies which Haydn created for the flourishing musical life of the capital of the British Empire and with which he crowned his entire symphonic oeuvre. Conversely, Haydn's popular Piano Concerto in D major Hob. XVIII:11, with its famous Rondo all'Ungherese, was probably composed at home in Esterházy, though first published in Paris. In any case, Sir András Schiff and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe are at home on all stages of the world: a musical unity, far from routine, that has been fostered in almost one hundred concerts.

Event Datum


Sunday, 11:00 am

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Hotel Galántha

Spend the night in Eisenstadt

Book your room

Seating Plan & Prices

    I€ 93,-
    II€ 79,-
    III€ 66,-
    IV€ 49,-
    V€ 34,-
    • Event Zeit10:15 am
    • Event LocationBergkirche Eisenstadt

    Geistliche Werke von Beethoven, Haydn und Schubert

    Geistliche Werke von Beethoven, Haydn und Schubert

    Gernot Heinrich, Tenor

    Peter Tiefengrabner, Orgel

    Vokalensemble Ton in Ton

    Linde Devos, Leitung

    Share this Page