Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2024

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit7:30 pm
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto

Julian Rachlin
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major op. 77
Joseph Haydn:
Symphony in F minor Hob. I:49 “La passione”
Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92

Julian Rachlin, violin and conductor
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

“La passione”: Haydn did not personally give the Symphony in F minor Hob. I:49 its nickname, but it does capture the character of the music. Is the work connected to the sacred sphere, specifically the Passion of Christ? The work's form, which with its slow opening movement resembles a church sonata, would seem to suggest this. On the other hand, does the composition belong to the musical “Sturm und Drang”, in which emotional storms rage with hitherto unimagined strength? Or could it be intended as piece of dramatic incidental music? Whatever the case, passions reign everywhere, and seem to increase even more in Beethoven's Symphony No. 7, a jubilant work full of explosive rhythms, ecstatic melodies, and a full range of dynamics. To this, Julian Rachlin, in the dual role of soloist and conductor of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, adds the great violin concerto by Johannes Brahms: a compositional souvenir from the composer's summer retreat at Wörthersee – but with a few dark clouds hovering in front of the sun - and crowned with a finale that takes a detour to the Hungarian Puszta.

Event Datum


Thursday, 7:30 pm

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Hotel Galántha

Spend the night in Eisenstadt

Book your room

Seating Plan & Prices

    I€ 93,-
    II€ 79,-
    III€ 66,-
    IV€ 49,-
    V€ 34-

    Share this Page