Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2023

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit7:30 pm
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto

Lucy Crowe

John Eliot Gardiner
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 90 in C major Hob.I:90
Carl Maria von Weber:
from 'Oberon' J.306: 'Ocean! Thou mighty Monster' and 'Mourn thou poor heart'
Carl Maria von Weber:
from 'Der Freischütz' op.77, J.277: 'Leise, leise fromme Weise'
Franz Schubert:
Symphony No.3 in D major D200

Lucy Crowe, Soprano
John Eliot Gardiner, Conductor
Chamber Orchestra of Europe

When a conductor as influential on the period instrument movement as John Eliot Gardiner makes a guest appearance with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe at Herbstgold, the programme alone promises to offer something extraordinary. And indeed, Sir John has made a selection of magnificent classical marvels that are beyond the ordinary. Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 90, for example, comes with the surprise that the theme of the slow introduction, now suddenly vibrantly alive, also dominates the Allegro. Bubbling youth and a never-ending desire to make music also dominate the ravishing Symphony No. 3 by Franz Schubert, written at only 18 years of age. On the other hand, the yearnings of the opera stage, now dramatic, now introverted, dominate three of Carl Maria von Weber's great arias: Rezia from 'Oberon' and Agathe from 'Freischütz' are among the most important soprano roles to have been created in the period between Mozart and Wagner. The internationally acclaimed English singer Lucy Crowe is the soloist.

Shuttlebus Tickets:

18:00: Shuttlebus departs from Albertina (Operngasse 4-8), EUR 35,- buy here

Event Datum


Saturday, 7:30 pm

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Hotel Galántha

Spend the night in Eisenstadt

Book your room

Seating Plan & Prices

    I€ 107,-
    II€ 91,-
    III€ 76,-
    IV€ 56,-
    V€ 39,-

    Share this Page