Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2024

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit6:00 pm
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto

Julian Rachlin
Kirill Gerstein

Claude Debussy: Violin Sonata in G minor L 140
Ludwig van Beethoven:
Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor op. 30/2
Sergei Prokofjew: 5 melodies op. 35
César Franck:
sonata for violin & piano A major

Julian Rachlin, violin
Kirill Gerstein, piano

They are both stars in their own right - and yet, on this duo evening, violinist Julian Rachlin and pianist Kirill Gerstein prove that the whole can still be more than the sum of its parts. The collaborative togetherness of chamber music is not about pugnacious self-expression, but about placing the works themselves in the limelight. The classical centrepiece is Ludwig van Beethoven's Violin Sonata op. 30/2 in the 'key of fate', C minor, the middle work of a three-piece set dedicated to the Russian Czar Alexander I. Around this sit three compositions, all written within only three decades around 1900. All oscillate longingly by various degrees between the late romantic and modern: the technically demanding E-flat major sonata by the 23-year-old Richard Strauss, Claude Debussy's rigorously thematically developed late work from the year before his death at age 55, and the aphoristic, shimmering, meticulously balanced miniatures of Anton Webern's Opus 7.

Shuttlebus Tickets:

16:30: Shuttlebus departs from Albertina (Operngasse 4-8), EUR 35,- buy here

Event Datum


Sunday, 6:00 pm

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Hotel Galántha

Spend the night in Eisenstadt

Book your room

Seating Plan & Prices

    I€ 86,-
    II€ 70,-
    III€ 55,-

    Share this Page