Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2024

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit7:30 pm
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto

Julian Rachlin
Boris Brovtsyn
Sarah McElravy
Eckart Runge

Giacomo Puccini: Crisantemi for String Quartet
Dmitri Shostakovich:
String Quartet No. 8 in C minor op. 110
Ludwig van Beethoven:
String Quartet No. 13 op. 130

Julian Rachlin, Violin
Boris Brovtsyn, Violin
Sarah McElravy, Viola
Eckart Runge, Violoncello

Is there a more yearnful melody than the ephemeral, three-part main theme of the Adagio in Franz Schubert's fantastical String Quintet? It floats and flows peculiarly, caressed by violin and violoncello. But a completely different kind of longing also permeates this chamber concert featuring an illustrious line-up of musicians: a longing for mourning and consolation. Dmitri Shostakovich's Eighth String Quartet opens with a sombre motif of fate, represented by the musical translation of the composer's own initials: D-Es-C-H (D, E-flat, C, B). A scherzo bursting with fury, shrill dance music with manic repetitions. Self-quotations - and a knocking repeated thrice in a frozen atmosphere: the warning signal among dissidents to beware of the presence of a KGB informer. The rest is freezing and despair: composed following his visit to the still badly damaged Dresden in 1960 and officially dedicated 'to the victims of fascism and war', the work also depicts the distress of the people of the USSR and feels more topical today than ever. Finally, Giacomo Puccini's 'Crisantemi' also expresses an insatiable longing for love beyond death through its moving music, which the composer would later reuse in 'Manon Lescaut.'

Event Datum


Friday, 7:30 pm

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Hotel Galántha

Spend the night in Eisenstadt

Book your room

Seating Plan & Prices

    I€ 86,-
    II€ 70,-
    III€ 55,-

    Share this Page