Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2022

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit11:30 am
  • Event LocationHaydnsaal
Header Foto


Julian Rachlin, violin

Daniel Harding, conductor

Wiener Symphoniker

Ludwig van Beethoven: “Coriolan", Overture C Minor, op. 62

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Violin Concerto E Minor, op. 64

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Symphony No. 4 A Major, op. 90 ("Italian")

'I feel that with each work I get closer to learning how to write what I feel in my heart, and in the end that is the only guiding principle I know.' So Felix Mendelssohn initmated in a letter to the Leipzig Gewandhaus concertmaster Ferdinand David, with whom he had consulted on compositional details, and who gave the work's premiere. Mendelssohn transforms the concerto form, letting the violin begin immediately with the main theme, placing the first movement's great cadenza at the end of the development and connecting the movements together, with a brilliant elves’ spell as a finale. Even the so-called 'Italian' astonishes with its well-known jubilant opening, its antiquated minuet and saltarello folk dance at the end - the only classical-romantic major-key symphony with a minor-key finale! Soloist Julian Rachlin and the exceptional Italian conductor Daniele Gatti, making his first appearance with the Wiener Symphoniker, will savour the evening's passions and subtle nuances.

Please note our Covid regulations

Event Datum


Saturday, 11:30 am

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Seating Plan & Prices

    IEUR 93.-
    IIEUR 79.-
    IIIEUR 66.-
    IVEUR 49.-
    VEUR 34,-

    Share this Page