Herbstgold Hintergrund

Herbstgold 2022

Herbstgold Logo


  • Event Zeit11:00 am
  • Event LocationEmpiresaal
Header Foto


Eurydice Quartet

Franz Schubert: Quartet Movement in C Minor, D. 703

Joseph Haydn: String Quartet In B Flat Major, Hob.III:78, op. 76, No. 4 ("Sunrise")

Anton Webern: Langsamer Satz (slow movement)

Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G Minor, op. 10

How else should it be described when a new string quartet ensemble introduces itself to the public than as a 'sunrise'? And after whom should the new ensemble be named if not Eurydice, who was rescued from the Underworld by Orpheus and led back into the sunlight? And what could be a more fitting work than Haydn's 'Sunrise' quartet, with the first violin's elegant soaring gesture? Leading up to this concert, the ensemble has undergone an entire year of intensive coaching with Peter Goetzel, who for decades was violinist with the Vienna Philharmonic, but always a violist when performing chamber music. Inspired by his eminent experience, the Eurydice Quartet shows itself at its best. The audience can enjoy the result of this metamorphosis with no fewer than three ground-breaking works: Schubert's intensely dramatic Quartet in c minor marks the maturing of the quartet genre; Debussy's only contribution to the form opens up a new world of sound; and Webern's student work gently opens the gates into Modernity.

Please note our Covid regulations

Event Datum


Sunday, 11:00 am

Event Ort


Schloss Esterházy, Eisenstadt

Parking & Directions


Buy Tickets online

Buy now

Ticket Hotline

Order by Phone

+43 2682 65 0 65

Seating Plan & Prices

    IEUR 49.-
    IIEUR 40.-
    IIIEUR 32.-

    Share this Page